Looking for Something? Search Afriwap now!!!
Add to Flipboard Magazine. | |

Costa, RVP top list for FIFA Puskás Award

Author Topic: Costa, RVP top list for FIFA Puskás Award  (Read 1793 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Timi Dapsin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,505
  • Today is that tomorrow you worried about yesterday
    • View Profile
Costa, RVP top list for FIFA Puskás Award
« on: November 14, 2014, 10:55:16 PM »

Costa’s nomination – one of 10 for the Puskas Prize for the 2013-14 season - is a superb overhead kick he scored for his previous club Atletico Madrid against Getafe in November last year.

Diego Costa, Robin van Persie, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Irishwoman Stephanie Roche have all been nominated for the FIFA Puskásaward, which is given to the scorer of the best goal of the year.

Van Persie’s stunning diving header for the Netherlands in the 5-1 drubbing of Spain at the World Cup is also a contender.

There is just one goal from the Premier League in the list – Pajtim Kasam’s wonderful volley for Fulham against Crystal Palace last October.

The stand-out name in the list however is Roche, who is nominated for a brilliant juggle and strike for Peamount United against Wexford Youths in the Irish Women’s Championship.

Real Madrid star James Rodriguez and Paris Saint-Germain striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic are also nominated.

Ibrahimovic, won the Puskas award in 2013 for his magnificent long-range goal against England in a friendly, and the Swede is back in the running this year thanks to his back-heeled volley against Bastia in a Ligue 1 game.

Rodriguez who joined Real Madrid from Monaco in the summer, is also up for the award due to his stunning control and volleyed goal for Colombia against Uruguay in the World Cup which was voted goal of the tournament.

Tim Cahill's volley for Australia, in a 3-2 World Cup defeat against the Netherlands, also makes the list.

The victor will emerge through an online poll, with the winning goal and top three to be announced at the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or gala on January 12.

The Top 10 goals nominated for the FIFA Puskas Award

Tim Cahill: Australia v Netherlands, World Cup (June, 2014)

Diego Costa: A Madrid v Getafe, La Liga (Nov 2013)

Marco Fabian: Cruz Azul v Puebla, Mexican Championship (Feb 2014)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Paris SG v Bastia, Ligue 1 (Oct 2013)

Pajtim Kasami: Crystal Palace v Fulham, Premier League (Oct 2013)

Stephanie Roche: Peamount United v Wexford Youths, Irish Women's Championship (Oct 2013)

James Rodriguez: Colombia v Uruguay, World Cup (June 2014)

Camilo Sanvezzo: Vancouver v Portland, MLS (Oct 2013)

Hisato Sato: Sanfrecce Hiroshima v Kawasaki Frontale, J-League (Mar 2014)

Robin van Persie: Spain v Netherlands, World Cup (June 2014)

Former winners

2013: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

2012: Miroslav Stoch

2011: Neymar

2010: Hamit Altintop

2009: Cristiano Ronaldo   

« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 10:58:10 PM by Timi Dapsin »


Other Topics To Read

Powered by EzPortal